All posts by Joke Mammen

Katarzyna J. Cwiertka: Keynote speaker

Our keynote speaker on the sixth Amsterdam Symposium on the History of Food is Chair of Modern Japan Studies at Leiden University. She is the author of Modern Japanese Cuisine: Food, Power and National Identity (Reaktion Books 2006), Cuisine, Colonialism and Cold War: Food in Twentieth Century Korea (Reaktion Books 2012), and Himerareta washokushi (Shinsensha 2016).

Check this year’s programme here

Online registration is now open

Registration is now open for the 6th Amsterdam Symposium on the History of Food. The topic for this year’s symposium is ‘(Post)Colonialism: creating, negotiating, and resisting transnational food systems’. The introductory lecture will be given by Katarzyna Cwiertka. Attendees are invited to join the festive post-symposium prize-giving ceremony on Friday 15 November. At this event, a prize will be awarded to the 2019 winner of the Johannes van Dam Prize and the Joop Witteveen Prize.

Symposium fee: € 90 (Early Bird until 15 September: € 75)
Reduced fee: € 45 (students); € 75 (friends of the Allard Pierson UvA)


For more information please look here.

Body and Soul: The Battle between Carnival and Lent

Pieter Bruegel, Battle between Carnival and Lent, 1559, Kunsthistorisches Museum Vienna, Austria

Bruegel’s Battle between Carnival and Lent will star in one of the presentations at the next Amsterdam Symposium on the History of Food. Alexandra van Dongen will focus on the extraordinary iconography of domestic kitchenware, that Bruegel has staged very realistically in this world-famous painting as meaningful props. They inform us not only about the existence of the type of 16th century artefacts, but also about their culinary and symbolic functions.






Alice Waters wins 2017 Johannes van Dam Prize

Alice Waters, Photo: Megan Alldis

The University of Amsterdam announced Alice Waters, American chef and activist, as the winner of the Johannes van Dam Prize 2017. The prize will be awarded on 16 November 2018 at the Auditorium of the University of Amsterdam. The Johannes van Dam Prize has been awarded before to Claudia Roden (2012), Harold McGee (2013), Carlo Petrini (2014), John Halvemaan (2015) and Yotam Ottolenghi (2016).
for more information:  Johannes van Dam Prize